Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Navigation
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-08-2017, 13:33   #1

Boat: 2007 Gemini105mc 34ft
Best route from Potomac river to Wilmington NC

Greetings to all. I am new at this so be merciful. I am an old (73 years) newby.
Oh boy! Anyway, I have purchased a 2007 Gemini 105MC and I need to take it from Breton Bay Maryland to Wilmington NC I have had the boat surveyed and am confident in its ability to make the trip. However, this will be my first go at a sailboat. I previously owned a 32 foot sport fisher which I lived aboard for three years on the west coast and used to go to the Coronado Islands as well as Catalina. So I am not totally ignorant but I am thinking that if I go outside of the ICW that I can go 24 hrs a day but inside maybe 8 or ten Maybe 50 miles a day?? I will have one for crew that has some sailing experience. My question is about what weather / wind to expect as well as currents and any helpful advice that you can give. What charts I need to purchase; best stops etc. I was thinking it might be an 8 day trip or maybe shorter on the outside. With that, I will stop and sort through your advice. Thank you in advance for your help.
GBonjour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2017, 13:35   #2

Re: Best route from Potomac river to Wilmington NC

Oops! My hull number is 971 and I am naming her Windriven Thanks Gaylyn
Old 20-08-2017, 14:35   #3

Boat: JBW club 420, MFG Bandit, Snark