Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-09-2020, 11:58   #1

Boat: 1984 Pearson 386, 38ft
Best passage/route online planning tool?

I'm new to sailing and am wondering---whats the best "google maps" for sailing--not necessarily for direction but all other pre-route planning sailing factors?

For example--I want to depart Northport, NY and arrive Annapolis, MD. Is there a website that I can plug these points in and am given recommended routes, cautions, notices to sailors, tide timing, depth, marina info, bridge clearance, distance, estimated duration (based on given speed ~5 Kts).

Understand when executing the trip factors change and relying on GPS, chartplotter/weather--but am looking for a preplanning tool to get a good "WAG"?

Thanks in advance!!

Matt
mrogers23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2020, 17:45   #2

Boat: J/36
Re: Best passage/route online planning tool?

The best tool I've found so far for planning a trip is a paper chart. It shows the possible routes, (don't go between Roosevelt Island and Queens, for example: low bridge), dangers from rocks, reefs and shoals, shipping lanes, buoys, lighthouses, depths, and places en route that might be interesting or more (or less) convenient to visit. Distances are easy to figure out since, unlike on computer maps, the scale is constant. Charts also show bridge clearances. After plotting out the intended route you can look things up online or in cruising guides for more detail. Others may know more modern tools, but you're not likely to program the next waypoint on a chart without noticing that it crosses a point of land that your autopilot won't tell you is there.
psk125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2020, 18:44   #3
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Tartan 33 and OPB
Send a message via Skype™ to Snore

Fast seas let’s you do a few routes per month for free.