Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Anchoring & Mooring
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-05-2008, 15:21   #1
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Passport 47 CC
Send a message via Yahoo to SV Someday Came
Willard Sprit / Windlass / Anchor Headache

Hello

I was going to remount on my new sprit all the hardware exactly as it was on the old sprit. But something does not seem right about that decision. Pictures with aft Samson post, windlass, Forestay (red screwdriver) and anchor roller is the current set up. Is it me, or is this windlass simply too big for the boat? Once I started playing with the way it was, I know now I cannot follow the original template. The windlass was mounted further to the port side on the sprit, the chain never could drop straight into the locker -- the angel was not as straight as I would have liked from the roller to the gypsy. The whole set up feels wrong. But then, it is not like I have sailed that much, and it clearly did work prior (although I am beginning to wonder if the force of snubbing did not contribute to the huge rotted hole around the forward starboard windlass bolt hole).

Pictures with aft windlass, samson post, and anchor roller are what I am thinking about doing. I am wondering if swapping the position of the windlass and the samson post would be better. The chain will just clear the side of the sprit and the samson post could be used to claw the chain so to prevent too much force on the windlass.