Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-09-2014, 07:00   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Belgium
Boat: One-off Baron von Hoevell, 29ft steel classic
Posts: 334
Connecting Two Pieces of Chain with a Shackle

Hey there,

I was just wondering if it would be ok to connect two pieces of chain with a shackle of some sort. This of course assuming they're all galvanized steel, and no galvanic corrosion will take place.

Seems logical to me, as long as the shackle won't be the weakest link (at least as strong or stronger than the chain), but I see it so little that it makes me wonder...

Any input on this?
Orchidius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2014, 07:15   #2
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,823
Images: 25
Re: Connecting two pieces of chain with a shackle

If your chain needs to go through a gypsey on the windlass the shackle will catch and jamb.

Theres a double C link you buy and smash together with a hammer. They are good
__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2014, 07:18   #3
Registered User
 
Lancerbye's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ladysmith,BC, Vancouver Island , Canada
Boat: Lancer 44 Motorsailer
Posts: 1,839
Images: 38
Re: Connecting two pieces of chain with a shackle

Connecting Links | Galvanized Chains
__________________
The basis of accomplishment is in never quitting
Mengzi Meng-tse
Lancerbye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2014, 07:23   #4
cat herder, extreme blacksheep
 
zeehag's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: furycame alley , tropics, mexico for now
Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
Posts: 18,899
Images: 56
Send a message via Yahoo to zeehag Send a message via Skype™ to zeehag
Re: Connecting two pieces of chain with a shackle

folks do that which they decide to do for various reasons. having witnessed many fail reasons, i would not even think of that, oops, sry, i did, and rejected the idea. the weakest link thing is serious. weather is serious and so is loss. and rocks happen.
be ready to lose and do not risk more than you can afford to replace.
__________________
life is an adventure meant to be LIVED!!!!
https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums...oul+mates.html


https://sksolitarybird.org/
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2014, 07:42   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Belgium
Boat: One-off Baron von Hoevell, 29ft steel classic
Posts: 334
Re: Connecting two pieces of chain with a shackle

Thanks for the input guys, I'll keep it in mind!

A tiny bit more info though; it won't live underwater, won't go through a windlass or winch.

I just want to attach some chain to a thimble, but the thimbles I'm looking at are the closed kind, the heavy duty ones...
Orchidius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2014, 07:45   #6
Moderator
 
noelex 77's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Boat: Bestevaer.
Posts: 12,571
Re: Connecting two pieces of chain with a shackle

As Mark says if you have a gypsy you will need to use a C link.

There are a lot of junk C links around. Don't just buy a C link from the local chandlery. It will be much weaker than the chain. A good quality C link regularly inspected for corrosion is fine on non high tensile chain.

Here is some testing of C links:

C-links

Edit: I see you have not got a windlass, but perhaps my post will relevant to others.
noelex 77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2014, 08:39   #7
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to geoff3nebel Send a message via Skype™ to geoff3nebel
Re: Connecting two pieces of chain with a shackle

It is important to realise that by joining two lengths of chain with a 'C' link you will almost certainly be introducing 'the weakest link'.
C links come in various materials: avoid inexpensive cast links (they are only good for joining decorative or 'keep of the grass' chain) stainless are ok, but the best C links are manufactured from forged and quenched steel for maximum strength.
__________________
Geoff
geoff3nebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2014, 08:46   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Belgium
Boat: One-off Baron von Hoevell, 29ft steel classic
Posts: 334
Re: Connecting two pieces of chain with a shackle

How 'bout regular shackles guys...? You can get them in all sorts of materials and breaking strengths. Assuming you go 3 sizes up say, which won't matter since it won't have to pass through a winch/windlass and won't cost thŗt much more, would you sleep well at night?
Orchidius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2014, 09:10   #9
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to geoff3nebel Send a message via Skype™ to geoff3nebel
Re: Connecting two pieces of chain with a shackle

OK, use two load-tested shackles on each ends of the chains to be joined; the keys should just fit in the existing links. Remember to mouse them. Even so, don't bet your life on them. A continuous length of welded chain wins hands down any day.
FYI I lost a genuine CQR anchor and 20m of chain when a C link parted in Fishguard harbour some years back.
__________________
Geoff
geoff3nebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2014, 09:56   #10
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 9,536
Re: Connecting two pieces of chain with a shackle

I'm not familiar with the term mouse them so I may be being redundant?

If you choose to us conventional shackles secure the pins with Nichrome wire.
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2014, 10:20   #11
Registered User

Join Date: May 2008
Location: daytona beach florida
Boat: csy 37
Posts: 2,936
Images: 1
Re: Connecting two pieces of chain with a shackle

Google "double clevis link". When you see one you will understand why they are much stronger than the chain they are joining. Get galvanized of course. Sometimes its hard to find one with galvanized pins so I substituted galvanized bolts instead. It will "hop" as it goes over the gypsy but to me its worth the extra security.
__________________
Take two at low eight
onestepcsy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2014, 11:06   #12
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,823
Images: 25
Re: Connecting two pieces of chain with a shackle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orchidius View Post

A tiny bit more info though; it won't live underwater, won't go through a windlass or winch.

I just want to attach some chain to a thimble,.
Then a shackle will be fine.


Next time add all the info you can in your first post
__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2014, 13:54   #13
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to geoff3nebel Send a message via Skype™ to geoff3nebel
Re: Connecting two pieces of chain with a shackle

Hi Cadence, to 'mouse' a shackle is to secure the pin/key with wire to prevent its unscrewing (I use monel wire). I have absolutely no idea where the term originates...
__________________
Geoff
geoff3nebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2014, 14:17   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: New London, NH
Boat: Intrepid 9 meter, 29.5 feet
Posts: 91
Re: Connecting two pieces of chain with a shackle

The problem with traditional shackles is that one with strength to match good chain has a pin too fat to fit through the chain links. The only suitable connectors are the ones loggers use which involve two halves which are connected by a pin which has to be peened to keep the pin in place. I haven't seen any that are galvanized. I carry the logger version for use in the event of a big storm. Old Swampy
Old Swampy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2014, 14:31   #15
Moderator Emeritus
 
Hudson Force's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lived aboard & cruised for 45 years,- now on a chair in my walk-in closet.
Boat: Morgan OI 413 1973 - Aythya
Posts: 8,246
Images: 1
Re: Connecting Two Pieces of Chain with a Shackle

Exceptions abound and one answer does not fit all. I use a pair of Crosby shackles that are the same size as my chain and fit them with their pins into the end links of the two shots of chain. This strong and sound moused connection bumps across my chain gypsy on my horizontal manual windlass and never jams.
__________________
Take care and joy, Aythya crew
Hudson Force is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is it difficult to Size a shackle for G4 Hi Test Chain Mantus Anchors Construction, Maintenance & Refit 5 28-11-2013 10:59
mooring / riser chain shackle gramos Anchoring & Mooring 1 24-01-2013 14:44
Want To Buy: Kong captive pin chain shackle Morgan3820 Classifieds Archive 1 26-12-2012 14:39
For Sale: 1/4" Anchor Chain - 200ft Total (3 pieces) pressuredrop Classifieds Archive 5 13-02-2012 18:10
Want To Buy: SS Hook / Shackle for Anchor Chain / Bridle lucseawalker Classifieds Archive 3 19-08-2011 08:05

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:37.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.