Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-05-2015, 09:24   #1

Boat: Bristol 35.5
anchor shackle security

I'm a locksmith by trade and have used these in the past to secure things.
thinkin it's a no brainer for anchor shackle. haven't used it yet. lookin for feedback please if a no go.

50 Stainless Steel Split Rings 14mm 150lb Test | eBay

one to pin, one to shackle and then to each other. thoughts?
powsmias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2015, 09:41   #2

Boat: Seafarer36c
Re: anchor shackle security

They wouldn't work for us. The rings would get torn off sooner or later on the bow roller. A low profile safety wire job seems to work.
model 10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2015, 09:48   #3

a small spool of Monel wire will last you about... oh... 40 years at least....

Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2015, 09:50   #4

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Bestevaer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by powsmias View Post
haven't used it yet. lookin for feedback please if a no go.
No go I am afraid. Look for a good quality, rated, shackle.

Crosby and Green Pin are good brands. It is worth looking up the SWL and making sure the shackle is not the weak link. They are often exposed to a side load so a bit of overkill is not a bad thing, especially as the cost is small.
noelex 77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2015, 09:52   #5

I use a few turns of SS safety wire. I twist them tightly a number of times, then cut twist with enough length to tuck the twist into the hole of thumb screw on the pin. This ensure it won't catch on anything (like a hand).
Shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2015, 09:53   #6