Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-02-2013, 13:34   #1
Registered User
 
sww914's Avatar

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Punta De Mita
Boat: Vagabond 39 Hull # 1
Posts: 1,842
3 Strand or 8 Plait for Anchor Line

In a previous thread we discussed my rode hockling problem. I'm ready to pull the trigger on a new rode. Some folks have tried to convince me that there's nothing wrong with 3 strand, just that there's something wrong with the 3 strand that I have here. Maybe somebody towed a cruise ship with it once? Others have said that 8 plait is the only way to go and that it will cure my problems and live longer. I'm convinced of that but I'm also convinced that there is something wrong with what I have here.
250' 3/4" three strand is $250.00
250' 5/8" 8 plait is $407.50 and they're virtually the same strength.
Should I spend the extra money?
Getting them to me here in Puerto Vallarta is another can O worms but I think I have that figured out.
__________________
Steve
https://www.landfallvoyages.com
sww914 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 13:37   #2
cat herder, extreme blacksheep
 
zeehag's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: furycame alley , tropics, mexico for now
Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
Posts: 18,899
Images: 56
Send a message via Yahoo to zeehag Send a message via Skype™ to zeehag
Re: 3 Strand or 8 Plait for anchor line

please use all chain so your boat doesnt go the way the yawl in la cruz in the anchorage did sooo many times--many rocks on bottom in mexico....even chan is ruined quickly...rope rode is chafed thru really fast--took less than 2 weeks for the blue yawl to disappear.....they used rope plus chain.....equals gone.
__________________
life is an adventure meant to be LIVED!!!!
https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums...oul+mates.html


https://sksolitarybird.org/
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 13:45   #3
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denmark (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 30,777
Re: 3 Strand or 8 Plait for anchor line

I didn't read about your "rode hockling" problems, but octoplait doesn't twist and is much nicer to handle. The only advantage of three-strand, besides price, is that it is much easier to splice.
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 13:45   #4
Registered User
 
sww914's Avatar

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Punta De Mita
Boat: Vagabond 39 Hull # 1
Posts: 1,842
Re: 3 Strand or 8 Plait for anchor line

I would love to Zee but I simply do not have the money.
All chain would be getting close to $1800.00.
__________________
Steve
https://www.landfallvoyages.com
sww914 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 14:20   #5
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 11,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by sww914 View Post
I would love to Zee but I simply do not have the money.
All chain would be getting close to $1800.00.
Then you need to buy 2nd hand chain. The areas you are sailing in, you really need all chain like zeehag stated.
__________________
This is just an answer/comment; not interested in arguing or dealing with the trolls
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 16:58   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Blue Hill, Maine
Boat: 32' Bob Baker/Joel White Cutter (One-off wood)
Posts: 159
I recently replaced my main rode which was aging New England Ropes 3 strand with Yale Brait. Both worked very well, but the Brait piles up beautifully in the rode locker. It also seems to have eliminated yawing at anchor, but not sure if that is due to the different construction or new vs. old nylon. Sounds like you may have purchased a subpar 3 strand. There is a lot of it out there and I've seen cheap Chinese stuff hockle like it was designed to do nothing else.
marujo.sortudo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 17:38   #7
CF Adviser
 
Bash's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: sausalito
Boat: 14 meter sloop
Posts: 7,260
Re: 3 Strand or 8 Plait for anchor line

Do you have a windlass? 8 plait will cooperate with the gypsy far better than 3 strand.
__________________
cruising is entirely about showing up--in boat shoes.
Bash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 17:52   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 20,483
Re: 3 Strand or 8 Plait for anchor line

It is always an 8-plait for me: no kinks, flakes better, easier on the hands and takes up less space in the locker.

We have 3-strand on one of our kedge warps and it is OK too though.

b.
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 17:55   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,945
Re: 3 Strand or 8 Plait for anchor line

Do you have at least 50 feet of chain? I think that gives you a pretty good compromise and if you can go for 100 feet you will be on all chain or mostly chain in a lot of places. In any case, I have always purchased quality 3-strand and it lasts forever and ever. Sure, the multiplaits are wonderful ropes, if you can afford the price, but I have also had a brand new rode cut in two by a powerboat, so I don't cry as much with 3-strand when that happens. It is much easier to do a long splice if you need to put two pieces of three strand together. Strangely, not that many people use double-braid, but it is in-between in price, flakes beautifully, and lasts a really long time. It doesn't have quite as much stretch as 3-strand, but it certainly has a lot more than all chain. You can find some deals on double braid.
__________________
Kettlewell Cruising
Kettlewell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 17:56   #10
Registered User
 
Opie91's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: CT
Boat: C&C 34
Posts: 912
Re: 3 Strand or 8 Plait for anchor line

We have 8 plait with a windlass. As mentioned above it goes through the windlass quite a bit better than 3 strand and it falls into the anchor locker like a dream.

It really is worth the extra money IMO. Defender has a 220' 8 plait with 30' of 5/16 G4 chain for $326.59 USD. They do ship internationally.

8 Plait Rope And HT Chain Anchor Rode
Opie91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 18:05   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Montegut LA.
Boat: Now we need to get her to Louisiana !! she's ours
Posts: 3,421
Re: 3 Strand or 8 Plait for anchor line

Zee has it right !! 1800 bucks! whats your boat worth?? and your stuff aboard !! and your butt if it parts at night when your sleeping ! Chain is heavey yes! but it's worth the price and the weight ! Ive went cheap and used rode instead of chain ! and it almost cost me my boat in coral country!! I learned the hard way ! and thats not the best way to learn !! believe me !!LOL
__________________
Bob and Connie
bobconnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 18:13   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,945
Re: 3 Strand or 8 Plait for anchor line

Don't know what the depths are where the OP is anchoring, but if you have 100 feet of chain you can anchor in 20 feet or more of water and your rope won't be on the bottom.
__________________
Kettlewell Cruising
Kettlewell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 18:20   #13
Registered User
 
Capt Phil's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Boat: Prior boats: Transpac 49; DeFever 54
Posts: 2,874
Re: 3 Strand or 8 Plait for anchor line

I'm with Zee and bobconnie on this one. No question chain is more expensive but consider that you won't sleep well in many anchorages with a non-chain rode. Not only do you stand to lose your boat and its contents but you may lose your life as well to say nothing of the sleepless nights. Mind you, like bobconnie, I spent a number of years working the water commercially and don't ever recall a vessel I shipped aboard not having a chain rode. There are probably some deals on used chain in Mexico if you scout around a bit in marinas and put the word out in the cruising community. Cheers, Phil
Capt Phil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 18:36   #14
Registered User
 
maxingout's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cruising
Boat: Privilege 39 Catamaran, Exit Only
Posts: 2,723
Re: 3 Strand or 8 Plait for anchor line

I would not have anything but an all chain rode for my primary anchor. I get out the three strand rope for stern anchors, drogues, and lines to shore.

I would have never gotten off my catamaran during our circumnavigation if I didn't have an all chain rode.

I will never forget seeing a Tartan 40 that went up on the reef in the Tuamotus of French Polynesia. The nylon rode parted while the people were off the boat for a couple of hours, and that was the end of the yacht.
__________________
Dave -Sailing Vessel Exit Only
https://Maxingout.com
https://PositiveThinkingSailor.com
maxingout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 19:04   #15
Moderator
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 17,971
Re: 3 Strand or 8 Plait for anchor line

Here's another vote for all chain. Doesn't matter that you are not in coral country... I remember back in the 80's when two yachts were on the beach in Monterrey Bay within a few days. A search found that there was a bit of sharp metal debris sticking up from the otherwise clear sand/mud bottom, and that was all it took for those two rope rodes.

Your choice, of course, but here you have had similar advice from some experienced cruisers who hardly ever agree about anything else!!

Cheers,

Jim
__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II, working our way back down channel now... enough of city life!
Jim Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
anchor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: 3 MapTech Companion Chart CDs, $35/each, $90 for All mstyle8517 Classifieds Archive 0 30-07-2011 09:49

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:48.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.