Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-11-2016, 04:06   #1

Boat: Westerly Fulmar 32
Welder on a boat - equipment

Just reading another thread about welding SS water tanks and the use of mig or tig. I am not a profecional welder but I do a lot of it for fun and profit. At some point in the future I will transition from couch sailing to an actual real life boat. But in the meantime just planning. Both my welder so are 220v and I would like to have one on the boat for repairs and maybe help subserdise my cruising.

Any one have any experience with this? Using a generator v dock power? Gas fills? Corrosion under the waterline...!

I would much prefer the tig for this purpose.
Steven UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2016, 05:20   #2

Boat: Under construction 35' ketch (and +3 smaller)
Re: Welder on a boat - equipment

Depending of the cruising grounds ie unavailability of gas I'd take a MMA welder instead..

BR Teddy
TeddyDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2016, 05:36   #3

Boat: Westsail 32

I'll be taking my Miller Max Star, stick and tig rig, it's small but nice, runs on 110v so if shore power is 230v 50hz, use a voltage regulator, not taking any argon, but should be able to get your hands on it most places, I think Miller makes the Max Star that runs on 110 or 220 now, google it, see what you think
SKG56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2016, 05:42   #4

That is a consideration but the 120 cu ft bottles (or there a bouts) are manageable and there are smaller disposable bottles that can work but TIG for verity and adaptability I think is a good idea. I'm just worried about powering it and I'm not fully upto speed with galvanic of Catholic corrosion, I would hate to fix my boom only to have a through hull dissolve while I was doing it...!