Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2010, 06:15   #1
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Cheoy Lee, 44 Cutter. Dolce Far Niente
Outboard Motors

We need to buy an outboard motor for our new dingy. Looking for feedback on the different brands. We need a four stroke 15 hp. Have looked at Honda, Yamaha, and Tohatsu. From all the info I can gather the Tohatsu seems to be the best buy but I have no previous experience with the brand. I don't like the Yamaha as much as they use recycled aluminium in their engine blocks and the water passages rust out over time. The Honda is good motor but they charge a big premium for the brand name. The Tohatsu is very popular in the far east and the company has been making outboards for 50 years but you don't see very many around. Anybody have first hand experience with these motors?
rourkeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 06:29   #2

Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore"
Why four stroke?
Old 09-10-2010, 06:33   #3

Boat: Beneteau Idylle 15.5m
Why do you need a four stroke? I was told by a expat living in the Bahamas the 2 stroke does much better with the fuel quality in the Bahamas/Caribbean much better, due to the larger fuel jets.

I just know that my Yamaha 2-stroke 15 hp has been doing fine, and is much lighter than a 4 stroke. Most folks I talk to consider the Yamaha top of the line, I got a good deal on a used one and have been happy with it so far.

Have not seen any Tohatsu dealer/maintenance places around Marsh Harbour. I see Yamaha, Mercury, Suzuki and Honda. Make sure you can get parts when you decide.
Troubadour52993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 06:33   #4

Boat: SAnta Cruz 27