Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-06-2013, 18:12   #1

Boat: Searunner 40 trimaran, WILDERNESS
Lehr Propane Outboards

I have just sold two Lehr propane powered outboards to customers who specifically requested them. I have no experience with them, but I will relate their experiences in the next few weeks as they go off on vacation to use them. One unit is 2.5 HP, the other 5 HP. A third model is 9.9, but no one has chosen that yet. These are interesting outboards. I look forward to seeing the results.

They can operate off their own small canisters, or off a larger propane cylinder. I am particularly curious about the actual power they represent, and the unique quality of not having carburetors subject to "varnish". I have heard reports that the cylinders are refillable, somewhat like the Sodastream gas cylinders, but that is another subject which I'll investigate. The other factor that interests me is the duration of operation per hours per cylinder. More later.
Roy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 10:54   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Ellis Flybridge 28
Re: Lehr propane outboards

Hi Roy. I sell Lehr outboards as well.

There are two things I can tell you about them. Right out of the box they can be hard to start. There is air in the fuel lines that needs to be bled out and then they are easy to start. The ones that I've sold seem to idle fast when first started. I make it a point bleed the lines and adjust the idle before I deliver the engines. When I do this, I get no complaints. It might take me ten minutes to do this. If the customer is a local this gives me a chance to teach him about the engine as well.