Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-08-2012, 05:35   #1

Boat: Hunter E33
Davits Affecting Much?

Considering a dinghy for my 33 foot hunter. Never had a dinghy before so I'm new to this. Thoughts about foredeck placement and roll ups led me I think davits may be my best route.

How much will davits affect my performance, handling, etc..? Will i heel more?

Can I leave the engine and all parts on the dinghy if I use davits? This seems much easier to me.

And lastly, I have a steel arch but something will need to be built off of that, what's a typical cost for this project? Assuming I hire a professional.

Thanks!
GreggL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2012, 06:49   #2

Boat: searching...
Re: Davits affecting much?

We have Davits and love them. Yes you can feel it a bit if the dink is up and the 10HP engine on it. The boat gets heavier to the stern - not an issue.

The Dink should be high enough to be let on so it may not conflict with any big waves coming from behind. If thats happen and your dink is full of water your in big trouble, thats a major issue to think about.We still are cabable to store our dink on the foredeck in case of a very long crossing - have it off the stern is the only thing to do before you run into real heavy weather imo.

Leaving stuff and engine on while its up depends on the system. I'm OK for short trips but take it off for longer distances to reduce weight/stress. Weight plus any movement is the main concern. So depends on the max capacity lifting of your davits. -

If I would have a choice I would go for an Arch instead of Davits. But the cost was prohibitive for me (over 6k US). The Arch is better to mount stuff like solar, antennas, lifts the dink usually higher and is much stronger no issue to leave Engine and so on....