Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2021, 10:17   #1

Boat: Bayfield 29C Cutter
Standing Rigging Replacement - How Frequently?

Apologies in advance if this stirs up some strong opposing opinions. At least it's not an anchor discussion.

I have been sailing keel boats for about 20 years. Just recently I started hearing people making statements about replacing standing rigging every 7-10 years. I work in high-tech. My experience in my industry has been that when one way of doing things has worked perfectly well for a long time and then suddenly I start hearing of something different that needs to be done, it's usually because a specific vendor is pushing their new way hard, even if it isn't really required. In no way am I implying that's what's happening in the marine industry and I don't mean to offend anyone in the rigging industry.

That said, I am curious. Wouldn't standing rigging replacement depend a lot on how the boat is used, the type of rigging (stranded or solid stainless steel), what's the relative gauge of the rigging compared to the amount of sail? How flexible the mast is?

And finally, and most importantly, does it really need to be changed if it doesn't show signs of wear (I'm aware that some of it is hard to see).
and4ew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 10:27   #2

Boat: Voyage 430
Re: Standing Rigging Replacement - How Frequently?

The answer is that it always depends.
ThereAndBack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 10:36   #3
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter