Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2023, 10:34   #1

Boat: Hunter Passage CC 42
Stack pack/Lazy Jack recommendation

I am off to see the Rigger next month and in preparation I must select and purchase a lazy jack system + stack pack bag.

As a freshly minted sailor, I have little experience with this system, but enough to know that I need one

My boat is a Hunter 42 cc Passage of 1993 vintage.

Anyone with same (or similar) please tell me what you use and likes/dislikes.

Thanks!

/m

ps: what happens when a rigger passes away?
Answer: rigger-mortis.
K1MGY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2023, 13:00   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Leopard 40 2009
Re: Stack pack/Lazy Jack recommendation

Managing the main on the boom at the end of the day is my least favorite part of sailing. It is a completely analog process and getting the stuff to work smoothly takes tuning. My goal is to (1) hoist without a snag, and not have to tune the lazy-jacks and (2) at day's end - turn up into the wind, flip the halyard clutch, and have the main drop like a shot into the bag with no need to go on deck. These are both achievable and worthy goals. I find that good stiff battens at the top of the bag and some support at the after end helps with both. You want to make a large opening at the top, that seals up with the zipper. You probably will need to loosen the lazy-jacks while sailing as tight ones will deform sail shape and make you look like a piker. They typically rig these per-side with a smallish cleat mounted to the mast.