Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-03-2020, 23:21   #1

Boat: True North 34 (AKA Noon Ocean) LOD: 34 LOA: 40
Running backstays

This is a question for a yachtsman (or yachtswoman) who has experience using running backstays. I'm new to having a cutter rig. This summer I rebuilt the mast and moved the shrouds outboard to the hull, an interesting project. Formerly there were 1/4" cable running backstays. I'm planning to replace them with dyneema. Also previously there were was a very clunky block and tackle system for tightening the stays with a snap shackle at the deck end so they could be moved out of the way or setup for use. I'm wondering if there are any other better systems that are lighter and easier to deploy. I've seen lever systems and the new thing seems to be low friction rings as a replacement for blocks. I'm an experienced sloop sailor but have never set up runners before and I'm wondering what my options are besides the traditional block and tackle system. (if there are any) This is for a heavy blue water cruiser and reliability and ease of use are the primary values. Should I just stick with block and tackle or try a different setup? Thanks for your advice.
NWSail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2020, 00:10   #2

Boat: 50’ Bavaria
Re: Running backstays

Some good discussion and pictures on this thread:

https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums...de-226233.html
Tillsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2020, 00:13   #3

Boat: Farr 43`

Highfield leavers are heavy, clunky, offer a limited range of adjustment and always seem to find my toes. The limited range of adjustment can make it fiddly to reattach the runner.