Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2011, 13:44   #1

Rig the Mainsail without a Traveler

I am new to sailing( 4 years) but not to boating on Lake Superior. In 2009 I purchased a Contessa 26 with an eye to cleaning her up and putting her to rights. While she was in excellent shape she had been negelected for several years.
I had her in the water in 3 weeks and sailed all of Aug and Sept of that year but spent much time on a to do list.
This boat does not have a traveller. The main is rigged by a system of pullys. While it works well for a cruiser it is not a great set up for any kind of fast manouvers.
Has anyone had any experience with this type of system? Would love to hear from you.........
Best
Tree23
Tree23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 14:18   #2

Re: Rig the main sail without a traveller

Not quite sure what you mean. In simple terms one end of the sheet is on the boom and at some point the other end is attached to the deck/hull.

Are you saying that you simply have a deck block fixed on the centre line from which your main sheet comes to hand? If so then this is quite normal for a cruiser.

KISS = keep it simple
smacksman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 14:27   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Tree23.

You might be interested
http://www.co26.com/Tech-Notes/a-des...sheet-traveler

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 15:13   #4

Boat: VandeStadt IOR 40' - Insatiable

I'd suggest getting your local sailmaker or mast rigger to come and take a look and make a recommendation. If required, installing a traveller on a 26 foot boat should not be an expensive exercise, but with a decent vang, it may not even be necessary.