Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-01-2021, 17:20   #1

Boat: Southern cross 35
Reefing "systems" for hank on jibs

Are there any clever reefing concepts for hank on jibs? Something to minimize for deck time. Something like a downhaul to bring the reef tack down to the deck and a second line that loops through the reef nettle eyelets and the tack and reef tack to concertina the sail up perhaps with a friction knot?

Thanks
Josephcrawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2021, 19:12   #2

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37
Re: Reefing "systems" for hank on jibs

Well, can't say I am an expert on it, only had to do it once, but I have a reef-able jib. I don't have a line to bring the sail down, pulling it down is not really the problem for me anyway. Just hanging on the foredeck and taking care of things is the thing. So I clip to a line on the new tack. The length of that line is set to ensure that the jib sheet lead is the same so I don't have to move the sheet fairlead block. I then have a dedicated line for drawing the lower tack and the lower clew together. It has to be the right length, you don't want to draw them too close. Then you can roll up the lower part up and tie off the reef at the cringles. I also keep the sheets connected, I just draw them up to the higher clew and tie them through with a figure eight (They are long enough for that.) Once that is taken care of I can go back and hoist the jib from the cockpit. It's a hassle, but nice to have the option.
on edit: the thing is I found it was necessary to bring the lower tack and clew in, and held together, at a set distance, before rolling up the reef. I can't imagine the idea you had there.
I have the pennant, reef lines (nettles,) and a line to draw the lower tack and clew together ready to go in a kit.