Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2012, 13:53   #1

Boat: 1994 Macgregor 26S
Raised Boom Affecting Mainsail Shape?

First of all I wanted to say thanks to everyone on the forums for being so helpful! I'm a complete beginner, and have learned so much from these threads. Hopefully someday I'll know enough to be able to contribute, rather than just pick people's brains.

I've had a 1994 Mac 26S for a month and a half now, and have taken it out 5 or 6 times. I've noticed that there is something very wrong with the shape of my mainsail - it is way way too slack. At first I thought it might be because I wasn't raising the sail high enough - maybe there was some sort of obstruction in the track that the sail slugs run in that was preventing me from raising the mast all the way. However, I checked for this the next time I set up the boat, and it wasn't the case. I also suspect that the age of my mainsail (original) is a factor in how slack it is (stretched out over time). Still, the sail seems to be way too slack for age to be the only factor. I realized the other day from looking at the mast that the previous owner had raised the boom in order to accommodate the bimini (picture attached). I have noticed from forum searches that others have raised their mast to accommodate a bimini. When you do so, do you also have to trim your sail size? I would think that that would be very undesirable, because it reduces the amount of wind you can catch... Am I missing something? Is there something else I can do to fix this problem? If I really have found the problem, I am considering moving the boom back down to it's original location, and cutting down the size of the bimini (a solution to the boom/bimini interference problem that I have seen others use).