Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2011, 05:00   #1

Fisherman Sloop Rig

G'day cruisers,

I'm an amateur sailboat designer at heart, and came up with what I think is a new way of rigging a sailboat that I think offers some practical advantages. I did some reasearch into old rigging designs and discovered that this particular sail has already been invented and is called a fisherman. But is only really used on ketch-rig vessels and staysail scooners.

But I was considering using this type of sail on a single masted sloop-rig. Essentially, I take a gaff mainsheet and cut it diagonally from the tip of the gaff down to a point at the base, of the mast. Removing the boom and using the gaff as the only supporting structure. This significantly cuts out power, but leaves sail area high up which is useful when "skunkholing" in the shadow of land. It also leaves the aft deck totaly free of obstruction, say if you wanted to use the space and getting somewhere fast wasn't an issue. If you wanted to make more sail, you can simply hoist a triangular sheet from the gaff point - replacing the cut segment from the mainsail, albeit with a soft bottom.

Can any experienced sailors see a flaw in this design?
TheManWhoSpoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 05:58   #2

Boat: SAGA 27 AK
Re: Fisherman Sloop Rig

I'm trying to picture this in my head. But a gaff mainsheet is a line of running rigging, how do you cut one diagonally? Picture may help...
Old 13-10-2011, 20:42   #3

An Image can be found here: