Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2016, 11:33   #1

Boat: Alberg 30
Through-hull: stay or go?

I'm in the process of replacing my Alberg 30's manual marine toilet with a compost-style head, so am considering how to deal with the no-longer-needed through-hull that formerly acted as the toilet's water intake. I'm leaning toward closing it permanently (fewer through-hulls just seems intuitively to be a good thing), but I'm also aware that there could be a future need for it, and don't want to regret giving it up.

I am a novice, and would appreciate the perspectives of more experienced forum users:
-What should I be considering in my decision whether to seal it off or not?
-If I do seal it permanently, suggestions for how to do so?
-If I don't seal it permanently, suggestions for any temporary measures I should take (beyond just keeping the valve closed)?

Thanks in advance, for your wisdom!
Shirley
Ariose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 11:55   #2

Re: Through-hull: stay or go?

Cap it and exercise it regularly. Use the boat for a while before you decide to remove it. This is similar to many folks with new-to-them boats who plan to do all sorts of "stuff" to the boats before they actually use them, and many regret the "improvements" they made which turned out to be not-so-smart.

Patience.
Catalina 34 #224 (1986) C34IA Secretary
Cowichan Bay, BC, SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)
Stu Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 14:40   #3

Boat: Alberg #0

I also have an alberg30. If you'd ever like a watermaker, that under-berth locker is an ideal location and a short run to the water tank. Also, poss deck wash for anchor/chain.

Just thinking out loud. Hope it helps.

Paul.

Sent from my SM-G925T using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app