Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Plumbing Systems and Fixtures
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-08-2022, 06:51   #1
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Passport 41
Manual toilet fails to suck water out of the bowl after flushing solid waste

Hi folks,

I have a jabsco manual toilet that is working fine most of the time, and an empty holding tank that is doing the job as it doesn't take too many pumps before I see the waste coming from the thru hull. When flushing solid waste I use the dry bowl mode to get it out of the bowl (which it does perfectly) and then switch to wet bowl, but at this point it brings water in on every up stroke but is not able to move any water out on the down stroke. I then switch back to dry mode and keep pumping (notice that there's no back pressure or anything; the pump feels the same), but there's barely any movement. I need to keep at it a long time before it eventually starts to move water out, and then it's all good again.

Now, my understanding is that if I had clogged hoses I'd feel back pressure on the pump. If that's right, I guess it's unlikely my hoses are clogged? My best guess then is that something (chunk stuck in the joker valve?) is preventing the pump from generating the vacuum necessary to suck water out of the bowl. Does that make sense? Is the joker valve the likely culprit here or are there any other more likely candidates?

Thanks in advance!
LifesBetterWhenYoureBeating is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2022, 07:08   #2

Re: Manual toilet fails to suck water out of the bowl after flushing solid waste