Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2018, 05:32   #1

Boat: Shorebro,Royal 33 - Aloisius
Jabsco - small leak by handle

I have a jabsco marine head and have always had a small leak at the pump handle when pumping. Replaced agai, the cylinder, pump handle with new seal in the cylinder, joker valve, spring and gasket at the top of the cylinder, still a small leak when you pump.

Does anyone else have this problem? Has anyone solved this problem?

Thanks, aloisius
landonshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2018, 06:17   #2
Marine Service Provider

Re: Jabsco - small leak by handle

Replace the pump. You should be able to find one on sale for less than the cost of parts that prob'ly won't solve the problem.
peghall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2018, 06:31   #3

It is not an electric pump, just a hand pump. I have already replaced the pump and all of the components and I still have the small leak near the handle where the SS stem goes into the housing. No leaks anywhere else.

Thanks

Aloisius
Old 11-03-2018, 07:48   #4
Marine Service Provider

You need to replace the entire pump, not just all the stuff IN the pump. 'Cuz if new seals won't stop the leak, the pump cylinder is either out of round or too worn for the seals and o-rings to fit tightly.
Old 11-03-2018, 08:56   #5

Brand new pump cylinder. It has a small leak where the metal plunger goes through the top.
Old 11-03-2018, 09:02   #6
cat herder, extreme blacksheep

Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41

i found there is a leak when i pump the pump with handle in lock position. perpendicular to that, parallel with the shape of pump housing is best. i also stuff vaseline into the shaft of the pump when i see a drop on the sole. easy peasy.,
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote