Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Plumbing Systems and Fixtures
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-07-2022, 22:09   #1

Boat: Lagoon 450F
Jabsco PAR-MAX HD4 water pump Slow to Prime

Hi

I’ve just installed the Jabsco PAR-MAX HD4 12v (part# Q401J-115S-3A) after my Jabsco PAR-MAX 4 (part # 31620-7005) failed. The boat is a Lagoon 450 and 3 years old, the original water pump was installed when the boat was built.

I have a Jabsco accumulator tank which is part of the Jabsco 52520 - Series WPS Single Stack.

The new pump is slow to prime on 1 tap (faucet) which is the galley mixer with a pullout nozzle. This happens on both hot and cold. When I turn on the mixer, the pump runs but the tap slows to a small drizzle before the pump primes and starts to pump properly. This can take up to a minute or so. Occasionally the pump does not prime at all and I need to run one of the other taps to get it to prime. The old pump did not do this.

All other taps (all mixers) onboard (9 in total) function normally, with the pump starting and priming within seconds.

I have swapped out the galley mixer pull out hose for a new one as I thought there may be a blockage or a kink in it. No change. I also manually pressurised the accumulator tank to 18 psi as per instructions. No change.

There are no leaks in the system, I have checked every hose onboard and there are no leaks.

Any ideas as to why this is happening and how I can resolve it?

Thanks
Michael

P.S According to Xylem/Jabsco, the original Jabsco PAR-MAX 4 (part # 31620-7005) was superseded by Jabsco PAR-MAX 4 (part# 31620-0092) which in turn was superseded by Jabsco PAR-MAX HD4 (part# Q401J-115S-3A).