Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2023, 09:08   #1

Boat: Hunter Legend 40.5
Jabsco manual pump issue

They all hope you are having a great New Year!

I have a jabsco manual pump toilet. I Bought a new pump assembly and installed it however i reused the old weighed flap valve at the bottom of the pump (not The Joker valve, but rather the flap valve)

I installed it and everything has been working great. Except recently something weird happened - It would pump water in but not pump the bowl out. When I was pumping with the lever on the "empty" selection there was very little resistance.

Then on "empty" it changed from no resistance to an easy upstroke and blocked downstroke. Not like a blocked vent, but rather a hydrolocked pump. I didn't try to force it because it felt like surely it would break if I did. Eventually, it started sorta working again - but only if I push the pump back in slowly - if I press the pump handle in quickly, it binds again.

Do you think it's that old flap valve?
What parts should I start checking here?
sv_isara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2023, 09:11   #2

Boat: Lagoon 380
Re: Jabsco manual pump issue

make sure its not trying to empty into a closed seacock. I dont think its relevant, but why reused the weighted flapper? I just replaced both my pumps, fyi.
team karst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2023, 09:32   #3

Boat: Hullmaster 27

My pump sucked in some seaweed once, and did something very similar ... easy to clean by disassembling the pump again.
Kelkara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2023, 09:37   #4