Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Plumbing Systems and Fixtures
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-01-2014, 04:53   #1

Boat: Lagoon 380
Jabsco Manual Head Question - Could be user error

So I'm new to this whole owning a boat thing and am working my way through various problems. I own a new boat, as in I picked her up from the manufacturer 3 months ago. I was expecting at least a little bit of repair free time, but I might have my first head issue.

Issue: Head fills with liquid when not in use.

I have confirmed that it is not raw water filling the head, but waste water. It fills to about 1 1/2 inches below the seat so I'm a little nervous. I assume it is stopping there because either a) that's approximately the water line, or b) that just happens to be the amount of liquid in the waste tube that gravity pulls back into the bowl. I'm leaning towards A.

What I've done:
I've closed the intake seacock and pumped the head dry. I leave the switch next to the head at "DRY" and lock the pump handle down. At that point the head will start to make gargling sounds and after a while will fill back with water.

I assume this means I have a blocked value or something. Any ideas on what I can do to see what is wrong?

I also realize this could be something stupid and user error. I would love for that to be the issue actually.

Thanks in advance!
Zoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2014, 04:58   #2
Nearly an old salt

Boat: Bavaria 36
Re: Jabsco Manual Head Question - Could be user error

Failed joker valve most likely

Dave
Old 21-01-2014, 05:18   #3

Yup I agree with Dave...the head is filling to the waterline and you need to repair the joker valve.