Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-01-2021, 21:31   #1

How important a water heater installation?

Hi all,
I'm not an engineer, I'd like to know more about water heater installations on ships. Thought you as experienced engineers might help me on this. My questions below:

1. How important a water heater installation on a ship?
2. Have you ever experienced a water heater failure while at sea?
3. Would you recommend Electric Water heater installations on ships?
4. Would you recommend a water heater for use in a cruiser?

Thank you
nozturk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2021, 23:40   #2

Boat: Paper Tiger 14 foot, Gemini 105MC 34 foot Catamaran Hull no 825
Re: How important a water heater installation?

If you like cold showers, No,
If you like hot showers, Yes,
Most water heaters are heated by the motor and have an electric heater as well,
12 volt, 110 Volt and 240 volt, Or Solar,

Any thing man made will eventually, Fail, How soon it fails, ??????????????

Ships are a different story to cruisers, Ships have all the bells and whistles,
Mr B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2021, 01:01   #3

Boat: Dean 440 13.4m catamaran

can you please clarify if you are really asking about SHIPS ? or are you actually asking about water heaters on small pleasure craft ??

ships use a boiler heated by fuel oil combined with engine waste heat

pleasure craft have more variety. some use gas. some use engine waste heat (usually with an electric element as well). would be a very rare yacht to only have electric HWS

how important your water heater is depends on where you are and how much you enjoy a hot shower. the owner would keel haul me if she couldn't have hot water in winter, but maybe only flog me if it was summer...