Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-03-2015, 05:59   #1

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Denmark (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Holding Tank Pumpout -- "Rinse" Port?

Happily, I have little experience with holding tanks. I count myself very lucky. Cruising in Florida, we had a Lectra San and discharged overboard through that. Here in Atlantic Europe, everyone discharges straight overboard. There are no restrictions other than not doing it near a beach or right in a harbor.

But I spent all last summer in the Baltic, and will leave for there again 1 May. New rules in Sweden make it illegal to discharge anywhere in Swedish territorial waters. So you cannot practically follow the rules without pumping out. And my boat, although she has a large holding tank, has no deck pumpout port.

I am now fixing that, which is a PITA what with drilling the hole in the deck, ripping out cabinetry to run the hoses, etc. Meh! But it must be done.

I have been looking at other boats in the marina here, and noticed that some have a second port marked "Rinse" or "Pumpout Rinse" -- what is that? Is it needed? You more experienced guys, please guide the holding tank newbie
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 06:03   #2
cruiser

Re: Holding Tank Pumpout -- "Rinse" Port?

I've not seen that, but I expect the rinse port is so that you can be running water in as you're pumping out.

My MO, when I had a tank, was to pump out, pull the pumpout hose, then add water back to the tank and flush the tank, and flush the toilet a couple times (clearing the lines), and then pump that out, flushing the system twice or so. There should be a viewing port on the pumpout hose, you can see if what it's pumping is clear or not.