Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2020, 19:12   #1

Boat: Jeanneau SO409
Help! My toilet is leaking! Fix or replace?

I have a manual toilet in my head with a holding tank. I forget the make/model but it looks similar to the Jabsco one below:

It's leaking from the bottom 4 screws (see the blue circled screws). It's my first time having an issue with a toilet on my Jeanneau SO409 so I'm new to this. It's only leaking when I pump. So when I don't use it, then nothing leaks. The good news is that it seems only clear water is leaking... I think. I haven't touched, smelled, or tasted it

Should I try to fix or replace? I think they're around $250 at WestMarine, if replace. If fix, how???

If replace, go manual or electric? If electric, is it easy to change out to manual?

Any help will be greatly appreciated, as this poo issue is annoying me.

[edit]I think it is a Jabsco, from my old paperwork.[/edit]

[edit 2]The vessel is 2011 and it's the original toilet. Probably due to change out? Or is this an easy fix? If replace, is it doable for someone who has never done this before?[/edit 2]
Cool Hand Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2020, 19:32   #2

Boat: Lancer 36
Re: Help! My toilet is leaking! Fix or replace?

There is a flapper gasket on the bottom where you indicate; if tightening the bolts doesn't fix it, you can order that part, a kit , or an entire pump assembly. I replaced the pump assembly on mine recently from a vendor on Ebay, but they are pretty common so unless you are in the 7th circle of hell like me, you should be able to find parts easily.
OloteleMtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2020, 19:33   #3

Boat: Pearson 424