Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-01-2021, 04:14   #1

Boat: Lagoon 46
Head maintenance

Newbie here. So sorry for asking because I imagine this has been covered ad nauseum..
I have Jabsco electric heads plumbed for Salt/Fresh which stay on fresh water. What is the best maintenance routine, especially when it comes to preventing scale build up in tubing? Muriatic acid? Vinegar? How much, how often?
Thanks for the help!
Tracyandkimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2021, 04:42   #2

Re: Head maintenance

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tracyandkimo View Post
Newbie here. So sorry for asking because I imagine this has been covered ad nauseum..
I have Jabsco electric heads plumbed for Salt/Fresh which stay on fresh water. What is the best maintenance routine, especially when it comes to preventing scale build up in tubing? Muriatic acid? Vinegar? How much, how often?
Thanks for the help!
Our testing and our solution: https://fetchinketch.net/2017/12/26/...th-a-solution/

If you flush always with freshwater, scale build up is a lot slower, but it is not zero.
BillKny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2021, 06:20   #3

Thanks! That sounds like what I'm looking for. Do you think there would be any value in keeping a premixed gallon in the head and periodically, every week or so, dumping a quart or so in the head? From the MSDS looks to be Phosphoric acid.
Thanks again!
Old 14-01-2021, 06:47   #4

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler

I doubt that you will need anything like that frequent a flush with acid. I don't know how much calcium is in your water, however. Do any of these things happen?
1. Coffee maker gets white scale and slows down frequently, requiring a run with vinegar?
2. Shower heads clog frequently with white scale?