Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2022, 04:18   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Eastern Caribbean
Boat: Island Packet 370
Posts: 64
Frigoboat Problem

We have finally splashed our boat after almost two years on the hard! We are located in Trinidad. The boat has two Frigoboat keel cooled refrigerators. The one used as a freezer started normally and is running fine. The other box set at Refrigeration temp began cooling the showed dreaded 3 flash compressor unable to start code. I put a bag of ice in the unit to try and help with the hot start.

It will now only begin running after sitting for several hours (assuming head pressure is slow to equalize) . When is does start it runs and cools for maybe half an hour then get the code again.

Have checked voltages and ran a temporary power wire to a known staple power supply. Also removed the thermostat and speed control from equation by a jumper between the C and T terminals on the controller. Get the same results.

This unit has been some what problematic in the past. Before heading to the Caribbean the system was evacuated and recharged because of other issues.

Do you think I have a bad control module or could a problem with the refrigerate be causing this?

Thanks for any help you might be able to offer.
Sea Lyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2022, 15:27   #2
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 1,883
Re: Frigoboat Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sea Lyon View Post
We have finally splashed our boat after almost two years on the hard! We are located in Trinidad. The boat has two Frigoboat keel cooled refrigerators. The one used as a freezer started normally and is running fine. The other box set at Refrigeration temp began cooling the showed dreaded 3 flash compressor unable to start code. I put a bag of ice in the unit to try and help with the hot start.

It will now only begin running after sitting for several hours (assuming head pressure is slow to equalize) . When is does start it runs and cools for maybe half an hour then get the code again.

Have checked voltages and ran a temporary power wire to a known staple power supply. Also removed the thermostat and speed control from equation by a jumper between the C and T terminals on the controller. Get the same results.

This unit has been some what problematic in the past. Before heading to the Caribbean the system was evacuated and recharged because of other issues.

Do you think I have a bad control module or could a problem with the refrigerate be causing this?

Thanks for any help you might be able to offer.
Yes your trouble might be linked to a shorted power component in module or just unstable power source. You could switch modules but Your comment about a stable power source concerns me a fully charged battery connected direct to module avoiding interference is the best test if this is a variable speed compressor model.
I have seen this condition show up before but compressor keeps running and not cooling because its motor rotation pulse is mixed up. In one case it was a bad ground some where between module and battery. On anther burnt circuit beaker contacts. My standard trouble shooting would be connect module direct to a battery making sure there is a 15 amp fuse in thec 12 volt power wire and the wire polities are correct. If problem still exists switch modules. If problem still exists the three LED code is unfirming an overload condition caused by most likely too much refrigerant or a combination of blockage and too much refrigerant.

I am sorry this may be confusing but if while on the hard you did not run this unit and no one added refrigerant you can solve problem yourself. You know there is no cooling of evaporator but do you know compressor is not running ? Zero current draw and compressor is not warm. You already know problem is not thermostat or speed control.
Richard Kollmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2022, 03:54   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Eastern Caribbean
Boat: Island Packet 370
Posts: 64
Re: Frigoboat Problem

Thanks Oze and Richard. I did a little more digging yesterday and pretty sure I found the problem. On our installation they piggybacked spade connectors to feed the SSC and digital thermostat to the main power supply . I installed a terminal block and removed the multiple spades. Unit has been running 12 hours now. As i think back that unit has in the past been more sensitive to low voltage on the boat. Once again thanks for responding.
Sea Lyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boat

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frigoboat freezer problem Streetcar Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 43 14-01-2017 13:39
Another Frigoboat Cooling Problem skipgundlach Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 60 02-07-2014 05:39
Danfoss BD35/Frigoboat problem hoaga Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 87 27-02-2014 20:57
Problem with new Frigoboat skipmac Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 14 03-07-2013 16:42
Frigoboat Freezer Problem Marg Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 14 01-11-2012 12:31

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.