Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Plumbing Systems and Fixtures
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-05-2020, 08:44   #1
TCL

Boat: 1979 Morgan 461, 46' sloop
Freshwater pump cycling more often; accumulator tank problem?

I have a Jabsco ParMax4 pump and a Jabsco 1L accumulator tank -- which system has worked fine for several years.

Just recently (past week), the pump has begun cycling much more often while the water is running.

I thought perhaps the accumulator tank bladder needed air added. (When I bought the boat several years ago, I replaced an accumulator tank with a busted bladder.) So I attached a bike pump and -- gingerly, out of fear of bursting the bladder -- tried pumping a bit of air. The bike pump is a foot pedal with a gauge built in, and it showed around ~40 psi on the downstroke. I gave it a few pumps, pushed the gauge up to ~60 psi a couple of times. I may have added a bit of air, but I don't think much -- leading me to believe that the bladder was not low on air.

More importantly, it didn't make any difference. Pump is still cycling much more often than before -- every couple of seconds -- while water is running.

I'd welcome any thoughts or suggestions on what I can check next as possible cause.

Again, this setup worked fine for 3+ years. Thanks.
TCL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2020, 09:45   #2

Location: Occasionally in Colorado. Generally live-aboard. Eastern Caribbean for the upcoming season. Nova Scotia and Newfoundland again next summer.
Boat: Antares 44i
Re: Freshwater pump cycling more often; accumulator tank problem?