Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-06-2021, 12:38   #1

Boat: Hunter 410
Failed macerator pumps

So neither of the macerator pumps for my two holding tanks are working. They are both Jabsco pumps. They make noise and draw a ton of amps (way more than they should, so maybe a short?), but don't empty my tanks. I have a few questions, as I've never worked on these types of pumps before.

Is there any likelihood that these can be repaired? Most times a pump isn't working, I assume an impeller failure first. Can you replace an impeller in these pumps? Is it worth it to try? I assume it will be a horrific nasty job if I do it. Maybe it makes more sense to replace rather than open the pump up, or maybe I'm just being a wimp. One of the pumps lives inside the headboard on the main bunk, so I'm quite unwilling to release a lot of holding tank contents in that location

What would it take to eliminate the macerator pumps entirely? When I've chartered boats, they usually have a simple y-valve configuration that just lets gravity empty the holding tanks when at sea. This is actually the only boat I've been on that has macerator pumps to suction the contents out of the tank.

My understanding (subject to correction) is that the use of macerators makes me a Type I MSD if I also treat waste with disinfectant before releasing it. Since I don't use disinfectant, I'm still a Type III. Is there any other advantage to having the macerator other than trying to qualify as Type I? I don't really have any need to qualify as Type I MSD, since I only dump when offshore anyway.
Old 22-06-2021, 13:19   #2

Boat: Milkraft 60 ex trawler
Re: Failed macerator pumps

Impeller kit
Easy fix
Sh1te washes off.

We bought one of these $80 cheapies as a spare