Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-08-2019, 17:53   #1

Boat: Hunter 44DS
Electric toilet problem flushing

I have a jabsco electric toilet that has no worries about flushing solids or paper through it but when itís only urine it tends to swirl like a whirlpool and build up and up higher in the bowl. If you leave it and walk away for a few minutes it goes down after that, but if you just keep pumping and pumping it builds up and up. I like to pump the urine a lot to keep the pipes clean at the moment only short little pump seems to make it work. I replaced the joker valve several months ago just because we were heading north for a while so itís not very old and Iíve checked all the pipes thereís no major buildup or anything in the pipes at all. Any ideas how to stop this whirlpool affect.

Akapeterc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2019, 20:34   #2
Marine Service Provider

Re: Electric toilet problem flushing

You're saying your toilet is an electric toilet, but you refer to pumping it. Unless you have a very unusual one, electric toilets flush by just pushing a button. What's your model/approx age? If you don't know, can you post a photo showing everything but the bowl (all toilet bowls look alike).

--Peggie

peghall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2019, 20:38   #3

Basically, the whirlpool prevents the water from draining down the hole, meanwhile more water is being pumped in.

You just need to stop pumping when the water starts whirling round. Just for a few seconds, let the water settle again then pump some more.

Short bursts, with pauses in between.

Keep doing short bursts, and you'll soon empty the bowl.

John McEnroe
44'cruisingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2019, 23:41   #4

Boat: Lagoon 400S2