Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-10-2020, 03:29   #1

Single Handed Yachtmaster mile recording

Not sure how to state my question without sounding stupidly naive.

TL;DR -

I am busy organising some courses and training to eventually qualify as YM Offshore to make my chances of getting a deckie position on a super yacht and I am wondering sea miles can simply be gained as single handed sailing on a vessel over 7m as per the below link:

https://www.rya.org.uk/courses-train...-passages.aspx

Long version:

A little background about myself, I have been doing accounting for the last 16 years and would like to make a permanent career change into yachting.

In 2019 I completed STCW, RYA Powerboat 2 and ENG1 medical and headed off to Europe from my native South Africa for the Med Season.

After about 2.5 months of on and off day work, which I thoroughly enjoyed (who wouldn't after 15 years of office graft), my 90days (every 180days) on Schengen Visa (1 year) was running out and stupidly enough I booked my flight ticket as return for my VISA application.

I headed back to SA and then in 2020 ol' Covid-19 struck and no chance of getting back over without an actual job with a vessel.

So I thought I might as well make my chances better next time around, busy with dive master course and will start the formal yacht training next month with Competent Crew and then Skippers until I get to YM Offshore.

I have some experience sailing casually on a Holiday 23 and Hobie 14.

Obviously I have a budget as many others on the forum have and probably everyone's budget looks different to the next. I would like to make my funds stretch as far as possible.

That being said, in order to gain sea miles I have the option to pay for mileage building trips with a yacht training school.

I have found some threads on this forum that linked me to the RYA website where it is stated that sea mile on vessels greater than 7meters can be used.