Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-02-2021, 12:46   #1

Questions for RYA owners, and other opinions, lifestyle change

Hello Crusiers!

Im a professional athlete, and after retirement in 5 years i want to change lifestyle.
I got a little sailing backround, because my father was olympic sailor, i got an Hunter Impala 28 in Lake Balaton Hungary. I sailed couple of weeks on Adriatic, but i want so much more.

I already started to learn for sailing at sea more and more. In the Academy i started is very similar to RYA training,very thorough on paper and on sea also, so i thinking about aiming some RYA certification after my regular licences. I really want to cruise and see as much i can in this amazing world.
If everything goes as i planned im going to have some savings,but i want to upgrade to a little bigger boat to live aboard for months/years. I can live on budget and i enjoy simple life a lot. My goal isnt to make millions of dollars.
But i need income for sure, so my questions is:

Is anbody who can share some opinions or experiences who has RYA? I kknow requirements.
I trying to get as much information i can get for after.
Easy or hard to find jobs with RYA certification? For me obviously in Europe.
Long term/short term jobs? Is there anyone for example who to works during season/summer and travel after? Possible to work 1-2 years and after travel for a while and look for jobs again? Etc.. Anything like that.
(im trying to learn and get enough experience to organize some weekly trips to Adriatic at summers in 3-4 years for a start)

But for now i study and looking for imformation how can i create life around cruising to see the world and working in sailing also from time to time.

Thank you for the anwers!
Have a great day
hunruji31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2021, 11:11   #2

Boat: J/36
Re: Questions for RYA owners, and other opinions, lifestyle change