Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-05-2010, 08:03   #1

Post Personal Log Book for Crew ?

I have been crewing crewing down in the carribean for a couple of months and now i will be assisting on a delivery from northern FL to Cape Cod. I want to get this recorded and signed off on, so i can add it to my resume/experience or whatever you want to call it. I have been trying to find one of those little log books for days now and all i can find is larger ones for boat owners. Any suggestions on where to get one? A good homemade alternative? Short of ordering one online because i leave in 2 days. Any suggestions are welcome. Cheers!
vivo el sueño is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2010, 08:47   #2

Boat: Jaguar 22 mono called Arfur.
The nice printed 'Log Books' are a waste of time. You are much better off with a hard back book. A plain A5 with lines and margins has all the diary type space you will need for an adequate record trips, comments and references and skippers details. They can of course continue to another volume as necessary. I regret spending good pounds on the Ship's Log Book. There is an excess of useful info which is more accessible in waterproof formats, the columns are suited to day log, rather than voyage history. It will provide a record of my experiences with this boat but lacks the flexibility needed.
An A4 Accountants Pad I use for my day log has all the columns needed, without the headings. That gets much reduced when it's transcribed into the Ships Log in due course.
Old 13-05-2010, 09:58   #3

Boat: Beneteau 32.5
Why do you wish to log your experience? If it's for the coast guard captain's license, I recommend you get their forms and have the captain/owner sign them.

The American Sailing Association has pocket sized log books to document sailing experience in as well. That might be what you were thinking of.
nautical62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2010, 09:59   #4