Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-12-2020, 03:26   #1

Newby about to plunge into the deep end. Help.

Good afternoon everybody. I apologize if I'm dumping this thread in the wrong forum.

Im looking for a lot of advice and hoping to get some guidance and not to much of (you're a dumb@ss) statement.

BLUF: Insurance for an extremely low time Newby sailor. Boat purchase do's and dont's.

So I've been saving up for 6 years and am ready to purchase a 38-42 foot sailboat. Think something like beneteau 39.9 circa 2005 thru 2013. Time frame of July thru Aug 2021.

I'll be sailing her single handedly in the Caribbean initially. I have not much more then my ASA 101 certificate and thats about it. And this is where most people are probably thinking..dumb@ss newbie.

My plan is to hire a captain/instructor who will teach me on my boat before I set off on my journey. Question is this: which insurance company is likely to accept this arrangement for the area i want to sail?

Boat purchase: go through a broker or deal directly with the owner? Costs of a surveyor/inspector? Best areas in the u.s. to purchase and/or dock while getting trained up.

Anything that I might be forgetting for initial purchase and insurance?

Rob
Rob_R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2020, 04:47   #2

Boat: X442
Re: Newby about to plunge into the deep end. Help.

Hello Rob, welcome to CF.