Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2009, 13:34   #1

Honeymooners Fast Track Bareboat Certification

My fiance and I are getting married on St. John in October. She has a love for the ocean and I am hoping sailing will provide me with a love for the water as well. She actually had her bareboat cert a few years ago, but was never comfortable enough to lead a crew. She has lived on a few sailboats, serving as a cook. I have now sailing experience, but I am a professional expeditionary kayak instructor and have a nack for anything water related. I would like to get my bareboat cert during our honeymoon and she would like to recert. I need the pre-req. courses but she doesn't. We are on a tight budget.

I guess I am looking for any suggestions as to how I should go about this. Our honemoon will be during the first week in Nov.

Thanks,
Patrick and Cara
pthurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 14:19   #2

Boat: grampian 26
Get her back out on the water to get her sea legs back and let her be captain. Go with her to get your feet wet so to speak.
perchance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 14:22   #3

My guess is the money aspect will be your biggest challenge, if it is at all. If she's lived on boats and has taken the time to study sailing, you'll be fine. If you've been on the water and know how to move around, you'll be fine too. I'd recommend this book:

Amazon.com: The Annapolis Book of Seamanship: Third Edition, Completely Revised, Expanded and Updated: John Rousmaniere, Mark Smith: Books

Read it, love it, keep it around forever.
rebel heart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 14:35   #4

Well, all it takes is money. I think for a honeymoon I'd skip the certs and do a crewed charter, eg:

http://www.caribbeancatamaran.com/ca.../hypnautic.htm

No, I don't know anthing about them - but it sounds wonderful.

Kenneth Grahame, The Wind in the Willows (River Rat to Mole)