Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-07-2016, 20:32   #1

Help!! Is this realistic?

Hello,

I am looking toward my 20th wedding anniversary this February. As I have tried to decide on a special trip, I started thinking about sailing. As the thoughts started swirling, I started thinking it would be amazing if I could learn to sail and charter a small 34-36' sailboat in the BVI or West Indies for a week to celebrate our first 20 years of marriage.

So, I have only been on a sailboat a few times and did enjoy it, but I currently have no real sailing experience to speak of. I am an advanced hang glider pilot and actively compete in cross country racing, with 50 to 100 mile tasks being common. While that isn't sailing, I have to believe my experience with understanding weather will be a little bit of a leg up.

So, my question is, is this a realistic idea? What certifications/experience will be required to rent/charter a boat and can I reasonably fulfill those requirements in the time I have? Lastly, I live in Northern Virginia, what is the most cost effective way for me to move forward, if this is feasible?

If anyone among you can point me in the right direction or explain why this is a silly idea, I would be greatly appreciative!

Cheers,

Matt

Also, my wife is very capable and I assume would get some experience as well, but may not be able to commit the time to getting the certifications prior to this trip.
Lostgriz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2016, 04:59   #2
Marine Service Provider

Re: Help!! Is this realistic?

Matt,