Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-12-2020, 22:41   #1

Good starter boat

Hi again,

So, I've been looking at small sailboats that might be a good starter boat, that won't break the bank, and might last me a little while before I'd want to upgrade.

I found one that I think might fit the bill, but I'm not sure if it's just a little too big for a first sailboat (complete newbie).

What do you all think of an old Tanzer 22 as a first learner boat?

https://sailboatdata.com/sailboat/tanzer-22

Thanks.
traveler73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2020, 00:18   #2

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37
Re: Good starter boat

I don't see anything wrong with a Tanzer for your first boat except that it might SEEM overwhelming at first in terms of size or having to handle two sails. I remember when I was a kid learning I avoided any boat with a jib because they scared me, I wasn't sure what to do with that other sail out in front! I did a lot of my learning on an El Toro and then a Laser then Capris and Victories (I know those names probably don't mean anything yet, I'm just pointing out I moved up in boat size slowly.) And then the first BIG boat I got was 24'!
The Laser is a blast and super simple and you'll learn all the basics of how a sail makes you fly, and once your confidence is up then you'll fearlessly try bigger boats. It's a boat I'd still love to have!
But back to your question, I think the Tanzer is a good choice too!
Welcome aboard here and best of luck!
1962 Columbia 29 MKI #37
Don C L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2020, 00:19   #3

I’ll preface this by saying I have about 1/10th of a percent of the experience of most of the folks on here…