Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-09-2017, 14:01   #1

Beginner from Vancouver, Canada

Hi All

I just joined the forum here and wanted to say hi. I'm a beginner and interested in learning how to sail with the objective to eventually get my own boat (probably a 20-something foot cruiser) for day sailing, possibly more in the further future.

I live in Vancouver, Canada and I'm currently researching beginner skipper courses in the Vancouver area.

I would love to hear anyone's experience or suggestions on schools/courses/requirements etc. I'm not new to boating in general. I took some sailing lessons when I was a kid and my family had a cottage with a power boat and a small dinghy sailboat. I love being on the water, so I know this isn't something I won't enjoy!

Looking forward to hearin g from you

Cheers!
flyagaricus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 14:35   #2

Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop
Re: Beginner from Vancouver, Canada

Welcome aboard CF, flying agaricus,

There will be many opportunities around Vancouver, and some of our favourite sailors have come from BC. Enjoy!

Ann & Jim
Old 20-09-2017, 14:47   #3

Boat: Privilege 39 Catamaran, Exit Only

You are in a great location to get started in sailing. Adventure awaits.
maxingout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 19:25   #4

Boat: S2 9.1

Hi I would strongly recommend that you get in touch with the Canadian Power Squadron there. They have excellent courses on sailing, navigation and maintenance etc. they should be your first stop.

Good luck

Gary
Gary Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 20:38   #5

Boat: 1992 lagoon 42 tpi

Welcome, my wife and i took a live aboard course with ocean forest voyaging, out of Vancouver. It was fantastic.
We also chartered this spring with Coopers out of the Granville Island base. Their recent emails show that they are affiliated with ispa now, so should be good for lessons as well.