Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-03-2023, 15:42   #1

ASA course vs. learning on own

I have some LIMITED sailing experience.

I've taken my own small 15' or smaller boats out on lakes 3-4 times on my own and I spent a day sailing with an experienced sailer in the San Francisco bay.
Limited experience. My confidence is perhaps greater than my experience.

I am considering the ASA courses vs. just going out and learning on my own with books and youtube and a week by myself on a rented boat.

Goal is 10 years from now... take the family sailing in the bahamas or cruising further.

I do have a small 15' coronado which I purchased last year and hope to take out when it is warmer.

What do you recommend? I love to learn on my own but my time is limited. Do you recommend the ASA courses? They are kinda expensive.
john745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2023, 16:19   #2

Boat: Watkins 27 - 27'
Re: ASA course vs. learning on own

I'd recommend a search for sailing clubs or groups in your area and connect with them. Many offer classes and memberships (if required) are reasonably priced. Yacht Clubs may also be a resource, but many have a exclusivity 'problem' and aren't cheap to join. Nothing wrong with ASA but like you said, they are pricey.

I had limited sailing experience (like you). In the mid-'70's I got married, the wife and I enrolled and took sailing lessons through the local YMCA. We bought a small boat (19' Bristol Corinthian) started to connect with other boat owners (with larger boats ) and gained more experience that way.
Old 14-03-2023, 17:00   #3

Boat: C&C 33 Mk1

Hi John,