Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Powered Boats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2017, 19:39   #1

New to larger displacement boats..

As the title says, I'm new to larger boats. I was perfectly happy with my little 20' cabin cruiser powered by an evinrude, but it basically was only useful for one person to use, as a 20' cabin cruise only has about 10' of deck space. Trying to wedge four chairs in that 10' for entertaining was a nightmare, especially if you're over six and a half feet tall like me. So I figured a 28' cabin cruiser would work better. More beam, more systems, larger aft deck. Plus a 28' isn't very likely to have a loud smelly outboard that everyone but me hates. Buying a new e-tec for the 20 footer was an option but not real cheap.

Flash forward to now... I looked at several 28' foot boats that I liked. Then the guy I rent moorage from tells me he's moving out of state and wants to sell me his boat. I resist but decide to take it at the last min before he moves. It was going to sit in the boathouse of the property he sold until someone bought the boat. So instead of a 28' boat I got a 40' wood express cruiser. Kept in a boat house it's whole life and with regular hull maintenance. I looked at plenty of rotten wood boats in the past, almost lost my screwdriver in the transom of one, but this one is solid. It's a planked boat so it seems much stronger than the plywood cabin cruiser I had/have.