Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Powered Boats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-06-2021, 08:19   #1

New boaters, lots of advice needed

The family is ready for a retirement vessel. I have a lot of experience with small craft( 20' and under), but we're looking for a retirement liveaboard for the Caribbean. Two adults in their early 50's and a 10 y.o. Through extensive searching, I'm comfortable in saying we will most likely end up in a 60 to 80ft. with an aft cabin. We're not into frills, just comforts. Also, we seem to be drawn to older Vikings and Bertrams. We plan to be on the hook most of the time or mooring balls. I don't get offended easily, so any advice/ criticism is welcome. Thank you in advance.
Lorgrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2021, 08:29   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler
Re: New boaters, lots of advice needed

Welcome to the forum, Lorgrad and family.

You are talking about a lot of boat. Remember that volume goes up by a power of three from length, so a 58 foot boat has three times the volume of a 40 footer.

If you are looking for internal space, visit a few catamarans.
Old 15-06-2021, 18:02   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorgrad View Post