Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-01-2021, 09:06   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Point Richmond, CA
Boat: Hunter 46
Posts: 320
Galvanic Isolator Question

New to me 1984 Symbol 44 has two (2) 30 and one (1) 50 amp shore connections. I am guessing the boat will need one galvanic isolator for each shore connection. Is that correct?
sail sfbay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2021, 06:58   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: miami,fl
Boat: EggHarbor,Sportfish,35
Posts: 196
Re: Galvanic Isolator Question

I have two 30 amp connections into my boat. My mechanic will be installing two isolators. Electrolysis destroyed my generator's heat exchange and I fear its emanating from my boat. Last time I messed around with anything electronic I almost toasted myself!
landsend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2021, 07:18   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 226
Re: Galvanic Isolator Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by sail sfbay View Post
New to me 1984 Symbol 44 has two (2) 30 and one (1) 50 amp shore connections. I am guessing the boat will need one galvanic isolator for each shore connection. Is that correct?
Yes, that is correct.
BillKny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2021, 16:54   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Boat: Uniflite, 36 Aft Cabin, KNOT GUILTY
Posts: 24
Re: Galvanic Isolator Question

Sorry to be late to be late to the party. Yardina makes an isolator that will connect to the two 30-amp circuits. Not sure about 2 30s and a 50.


Gene
Comogene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2021, 17:08   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Point Richmond, CA
Boat: Hunter 46
Posts: 320
Re: Galvanic Isolator Question

Thanks for everyone's inpit. I purchased one 60 amp ProMariner isolation transformer and my marine electrician installed it downstream of the 50 amp/30amp switch and upstream of the electrical panel per the vendor instructions. It is on the common line from the 50 amp and 30 amp shore power supply.
sail sfbay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2021, 07:09   #6
Registered User
 
Airis's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Brussels
Posts: 26
Re: Galvanic Isolator Question

Un isolateur galvanique se pose juste après l'entrée de l'alimentation AC sur la ligne de terre... donc bien avant le chargeur batteries ou autres équipements.
__________________
Have a good day
Airis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
galvanic isolator

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
simple galvanic isolator question. Russian007 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 18-12-2020 22:17
Galvanic Isolator Wiring pilgrim_40 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 3 20-12-2010 16:59
Galvanic Isolator CAELESTIS Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 63 22-09-2010 08:31
Galvanic Isolator Installation redcobra Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 15-06-2009 07:12
Galvanic Isolator Testing Sunspot Baby Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 9 05-10-2007 11:47

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.