Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-07-2020, 07:52   #1

Easy boat to dock

I am new to powerboating. Previous experince only in sailing dinghy and hobie cat.

I am thinking abt getting a ~30' powerboat for liveaboard. But I found docking to be very challenging on the few occasions I tried. I wonder if anyone has suggestion on the type of 30' boat would be easy to dock. Or maybe its just a matter of practice.

many thanks.
yorkville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 07:57   #2

Re: Easy boat to dock

No idea

Motor boats are clumsy .. tiny rudder, no lateral resistance

Best to buy a pile of fenders and simply crash into the dock
slug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 07:59   #3

Boat: Chris Craft 381 Catalina

In general, inboards are easier to handle than sterndrives or outboards due to more propwalk and having the pivot point further forward. A bow thruster can be helpful, but at that size, you probably won't have one (or have a strong need for one if you have twin engines).

Based on hull shape, some boats do maneuver better than others even with similar propulsion. But unless you've got a particularly poor maneuvering boat, it mostly comes down to practice and learning the boat and what it can and can't do well.
rslifkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 08:00   #4

Boat: Catalina 320

One day of instruction and practice with someone good at it should do.
Calif.Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 08:02   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by slug View Post
No idea

Motor boats are clumsy .. tiny rudder, no lateral resistance

Best to buy a pile of fenders and simply crash into the dock