Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Powered Boats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2018, 14:22   #1

Question 51' Bluewater 510 Coastal Cruiser

Hi all! Newbie here. This is my first post except from my "here I am" introductory post. As promised, I have been searching for answers before asking them. Nothing on this topic came up on this forum.

I am looking for a used, comfortable liveaboard motoryacht, but also thinking of possibly using it for occasional hosted day charters. At this point, I am targeting the Gulf Shores/Orange Beach area of Alabama as home base.

I have read posts on other forums that these boats are really just a houseboat with a bow, best kept to lakes and rivers, and should not be used for "offshore" cruising. While I am sure opinions vary, I am curious if this vessel would be appropriate for day cruising just offshore the Gulf of Mexico coast of AL and FL, assuming conditions are favorable? I wouldn't intend to do what I am learning to be "The Loop" in it, but would like the option of getting out of the inter-coastal waterway.

I mean, it is called a "coastal cruiser". If the shallow draft is an issue for such use, maybe stabilizers can be added to reduce roll?

https://goo.gl/mrZuzG

Looking forward to your thoughts....
tkcas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 15:18   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Islander 34
Re: 51' Bluewater 510 Coastal Cruiser