Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > The Sailor's Confessional
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-01-2023, 13:01   #1

How not to sell sailing introductions

Thanks to an overdose of YouTube sailing channels and maybe a bit of mid-life crisis, I have contracted the "want to become a sailor" bug. I've done plenty of windsurfing when I was younger, but beyond that I never even touched a sailboat, let alone sailed on one. Logical then, that I've been searching for the fastest/simplest/cheapest way to get on a sailboat to see whether my great expectations are in any way, shape or form compatible with reality.

Several months ago I spotted a little ad offering a day's sailing experience for complete beginners, priced very cheaply. I cannot afford to spend thousands on any "classic" commercial sailing introduction, so I eagerly contacted the person behind the ad and was informed that the boat's Mercury outboard engine was in for repairs, so no sailing could be arranged. Months ticked by until I got the wonderful news that the engine was now professionally repaired, and I had a green light for sailing, if I wanted to. Two days ago I finally met the 60+-year old chap behind the ad and we set off by van to the marina, 1,5 hours driving away. The outboard sat in the back of the van. The forecast was for 20-25 knot winds with gusts up to 30. The skipper told me he hadn't been to check on his boat for the past three months.