Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2009, 10:25   #1

Boat: not much yet
Sea Scouts Open House

The Valley Sailing club and the Sea Scouts are doing a membership drive newcomer open house Saturday near Portage Des Sioux on the north side of the St. Louis metro area. They are supposed to have a wide variety of personal boats there for information and to go out on. The information can be found on Craigslist St. Louis. Just do a search for sailboats!
As a beginner, I know where I will be if the weather is okay!
Have a beautiful day!
Ahnlaashock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 10:32   #2
CF Adviser
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Thanks for bringing this to everyone's attention, Ahnlaashock. It sounds like a fun day on the water, and a great chance to get aboard a variety of different boats. Let's hope the weather cooperates!

I wish I could be there.

TaoJones
Old 05-08-2009, 10:51   #3
Eternal Member

Boat: Simpson, Catamaran, 46ft. IMAGINE
Those exact waters are my first sailing experience. You maybe looking for Hoppies Marina.....I left you a message......i2f
imagine2frolic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 11:25   #4

It does sound like it will be fun. There is the added bonus that a friend owns a clubhouse on a backwater off the river in that area that I can use if I get permission! The boats part will be interesting, but learning that area from those that know will be a big advantage all on it's own for me!
Old 05-08-2009, 12:57   #5
Eternal Member

Boat: Simpson, Catamaran, 46ft. IMAGINE
Just north of Alton there's Brussel Island, and it use to have some nice beaches. It gets very crowded on a hot weekend with small powerboats. On the south side of the island.......i2f
imagine2frolic is offline   Reply With Quote