Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2009, 16:10   #1

Boat: L. Francis Herreshoff H28 Ketch & Brisol 24 @ 25'
pirate Cruising the Pacific as a Chef?

I am a capable qualified chef who did his Apprenticeship in a true old school institution. I now has a Business/Law Degree from a respectable Australian university with some experience in maritime law.

At the moment I have not too many commitments and almost enough money to buy a boat offshore (maybe Mexico) and slowly meander back west across the Pacific.

So are there any other Chefs out there who support their cruising adventures working their way across the Pacific. More importantly, when money is tight is it possible to find work (of any sort). Are there any problems with visas etc or are some places easy going?

(I note I would prefer minimal pay in a relaxed atmosphere to high pressure for bucks )

Thanks, Shane
SurferShane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 16:21   #2
cruiser

My sense, especially if you have some dynamite specialties, you could find work in touristy locations and enjoy the non-touristy experience on your off hours. Anytime on any island I have visited if there is a new chef producing great meals people (tourists and locals alike) flock there for a new treat.
Look here
StX Restaurant Ratings
20,000+ posts devoted to finding good food on one small island.
My 2 cents is go for it!
Truth in advert disclosure: This opinion worth exactly what you paid.
Noname1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 16:54   #3

Michael - thanks mate!
Old 10-11-2009, 17:36   #4
cruiser