Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-06-2009, 20:30   #1

Teaching and Import/Export

Anyone teach English as a second language? Or your other primary language? For myself, I thought that sending locally made products back to the states for resale may prove interesting. Perhaps an ocean-bound ebay store? Any thoughts?
Starchaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2009, 21:42   #2

Boat: Nomoboat -- yay Gustav ;)
Send a message via AIM to drew.ward
I've got over 10 years experience teaching ESL. I'm not doing it currently as the market is pretty lean with the economy the way it is.

It could be a possibility for limited income while you at anchor somewhere but it's never going to give you enough to save for the future.

There are parts of Mexico you could pull down about a thousand a month (if you're doing it full-time) and in Costa Rica you might be able to swing 600-700.

drew.ward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 19:02   #3

The ocean bound ebay sounds cool. Products that are novelty. Maybe even team up with a local business??
Old 01-07-2009, 19:05   #4

Boat: Privilege 39 Catamaran, Exit Only
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starchaser View Post
Anyone teach English as a second language? Or your other primary language? For myself, I thought that sending locally made products back to the states for resale may prove interesting. Perhaps an ocean-bound ebay store? Any thoughts?
Sending locally made products back to the United States has already been done. It's called Walmart.
maxingout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 19:07   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxingout View Post
Sending locally made products back to the United States has already been done. It's called Walmart.
Ya, but i think its still a neat idea, last time i checked, you couldnt get one of a kind items from walmart.
Old 01-07-2009, 19:14   #6

Boat: Nomoboat -- yay Gustav ;)
Send a message via AIM to drew.ward