Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-06-2014, 09:39   #1

1 week sailing trip from Sint Maartin, where to go?

We are 12 guys have rented a 50ft Catamaran 2nd week in June next year for a week from Sint Maartin. We are all experienced sailors and two of us are working at sea, we will bareboat charter the catamaran and i am wondering what would be the best route to sail out from there
I have been sailing around the Caribbean for two years but that is working on cruise liners so I have not much experience where to go with a small sailing vessel around that area.

My first plan was to sail to the British virgin islands but it is about 8-10h sailing distance from Sint Maartin so it will take to long for just one week. the other option would be to sail to the islands close to Sint Maartin , Molly beday, Guana key and Ile Tinamarre, if they are recommended. Then sail SE to St Barthelemy and around St Barthelemy Natural Reserve but i dont know if you allowed to drop anchor in the Natural Reserve if i remember right there are only two anchor spots, bay of Colombier and Fourchue.

I am hoping that I could get some tips regrading which islands that are worth a visit and what not to miss when it comes to diving and snorkeling and more. with only one week of sailing I hope i can get some help posting this thread. to make this trip a as good as it can be.

Sincerely ,
Andreas Thornblom
1st Officer Navigation
M/V "Legend of the Seas"
Royal Caribbean Cruise Line
Cpt. Thornblom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 16:05   #2

Re: 1 week sailing trip from Sint Maartin, where to go?